Kia Forum banner
1 - 20 of 95 Posts

· Registered
2001 Kia Sportage 2WD 4Cyl
216 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First, my cup holder is pretty spastic.
Sometimes after opening, upon close, it just won't close.
It won't 'latch on' so it remains open.

After awhile, if I push just hard enough, or at a weird angle, it'll close perfectly.
Sometimes, it just won't.

Another issue, I'm wanting to wire up some lights, that will come on when the doors are open.
Primarily, I want one in the trunk (since there are zero lights back there).

Or, I'd want some LED bars (I can get my hands on some 12V LED strips without a single issue) and wire them up in the floor area, ie. under the front seats, or under the glovebox?

Anywhere I can tap into the 12V source without much trouble?
I have plenty of experience in soldering.
It's just wiring that I'm scared of.

A plus to this is to have it go with the sound of music, but that is just a gimmick, and not a necessity.

Any exp or advice?

· Registered
02 Sportage 4x4...66 Shelby GT350...70 Mercury Cyclone Spoiler
195 Posts
Not sure on the cup holder. You should have a light in the back cargo area, however if you want more you can check out Autozone. They have several LED setups that you could experiment with. I believe some respond to sound. As far as power you could use the lighter socket, or tap into your fuse box. Several options for power. Cheers

· Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
There's a very small light IIRC, either that, or it's burnt out.
In either case, I'd rather use some LED strips I can have easy access to.

I stopped by Pepboys on the way home, and noticed they had bars and strips for.... well, a LOT of money.

Being an avid R/C-hobbyist, I have access to these:
HobbyKing R/C Hobby Store : Turnigy High Density R/C LED Flexible Strip-White (1mtr)

And as you can see, they are incredibly low priced, as compared to the ones from Pepboys.