Kia Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
Brand new to the forum. I have a 2016 red Sorento EX that I got last June and absolutely love so far.
One of the reasons I decided on this vehicle was the 5000 lb tow capacity, as I am picking up a brand new fibreglass holiday trailer next week! (Very excited!)
As many here have stated, it seems to be very difficult to find out much info on towing, other than what is in the manual. I have been reading several of the posts here on towing, but there's one piece of info that I can't seem to find anywhere. (And forget the dealership - clueless!) Anyway, I've been towing trailers for 20 years and have always been instructed not to town in overdrive (occasionally do if on flat roads at cruising speed). Given the the transmission doesn't seem to have any way to not be in OD, that leaves me wondering if the Sport mode is the way to go?? What do people here tow in? And has anyone found any reference for this?
Thanks a million! I leave Monday to get my trailer, and have to go through some high mountain passes, so I'd love to know the best way to approach this.
Thanks in advance for any input!
Brenda

·
Registered
271 Posts