Kia Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi to all. I'm new here and I find this forum a great resource for Optima owners.

I've been driving my 2004 Optima for 4 months which I bought new. Recently, there's a soft vibrating sound which appears to come from the driver side dashboard when my engine speed is 1500 - 1700 rpm. It only appears when the engine speed is within that range. After checking extensively, there appears to be no loose panels.

The strange thing is that when the car is hot or cold started, it will go about half a mile without the irritating sound even though I try to make it appear by driving in that rpm range. I thought the sound may come from the engine bay but when I open the window it does not get louder. Also, it seems unlikely a soft vibrating sound can get into the cabin while much louder engine sounds can't.

Can anybody tell me how to determine whether it is coming from the engine or a body part vibrating? Please help! This is driving me nuts and I'm at my wit's end.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Daytonabob and 04Sorento,

thank you for your replies. I immediately checked the glove box contents and cover but both are not the source of the vibrating sound. It appears to be coming from the driver side where there is a flat area of dashboard above the instrument cluster.

The more I think about it, the less likely I think that it is from the engine. Hence I'll redouble my efforts to find what is in the cabin although I've tried almost every part.

·
Registered
car
4,208 Posts
Sounds like something might be loose in the dash. Take it back to the dealer and see what they can do for ya.
Good luck and keep us posted.

·
Registered
22 Posts