Kia Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2009 KIA Sedona LX, 2006 Hyundai Sonata 2.4 GL
145 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to having a 4wd vehicle and just had a couple of questions about the one on the Sorento.

First off I was able to try it a couple of days ago when we had quite a bit of rain. I engaged it as I know slippery roads allow the system to be used without harming the driveline.

The problem I encountered was when backing up into a parking space I noticed that the Sorento didn't really want to go into the space and all but stopped. I've figured that this is the 4wd system binding. Am I correct in this and am I doing any harm to the system?

I don't plan on using the system in this type of enviroment all of the time I have it more for the witers here where we get quite a bit of snow. Any help here would be appreciated. As well as any tips to driving the Sorento with 4wd and different road conditions.

Mine is a 2005 LX with the switchaable transfer case.

·
Registered
car
4,209 Posts
Yes it is the 4wd system binding up and it is not good when it does that. I use my 4wd in the snow, sand and mud only, not on wet roads.

·
Registered
07' Sedona, 10' Forte Sed. SX
161 Posts
Dear Dman,

You should have sprung for the "torque-on-demand" all wheel drive option. No binding here, and supposedly each wheel monitored 200 times per second. I had a great winter with it...... and 4-Low is always there just in case.

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
True but I would have had to go for the EX and I'm not all to crazey about the appearance package (2 tone) with them. That and I do want a system that I can say 4wd please and I have it. I just thought I would give it a try with the pavement slippery. But I guess I will have to wait and use the system off road and in the snow.

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Another question I have is it only binding because I'm turning at slow speeds and with a high angle of steering input.