Kia Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just bought a 2011 LX with 27k miles. 2.4L FWD, mostly basic options. Got a 5 year warranty. Im new to the kia line, not sure what to look for as far as TSB's or recalls, or anything helpful.

Im pretty up and up on cars and modifications, i like to keep things clean and was curious on some small mods and what would be the best approach.

1. HID lights/LED
2. Some kind of bumper/brush guard
3. Remote Start

Any help would be nice.

·
Banned
2013 Sorento EX V6 AWD
710 Posts
1. Technically speaking, any HID "upgrade" to headlight projectors designed for halogen bulbs is illegal in all 50 states and in most of the developed world. People still do it, but a cranky inspector at your local car inspection station could fail the car's safety inspection.

2. I haven't seen any bumper/brush guards for these. Interesting idea if you want that "rugged" look in your FWD 4-banger. :)

3. I wouldn't imagine that remote start would be particularly hard or expensive to accomplish.

Best,

·
Registered
2011 Sorento EX
33 Posts
1. Be careful when adding the HID kits with the KIA, a lot of people have had issues and broke things. There are a couple of posts about it. I used to have HIDs in my S4 but after reading about the issues people had with the KIAs I decided to just stay on stockers

3. Hardest one to put remote start on is the ones that have push button start, but it is doable now. Only difference you may find is that specific shops have to install the Remote start if you have push start

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
my last car was an 2007 toyota corolla, and i was able to install HID with no problem. I just bought some LED lights for the brake, dome, signals and others, havnt installed yet. Some say ill need resistors to defeat the voltage drop and to trick the cars ecu that the blinker isnt out. I bought some just in case.