I recently deleted a number of folders containing songs from my thumb drive, but even though these songs are no longer on the thumb drive the radio still plays them. Does anyone have an idea why? Thanks.
The answer is you put them in the "TRASH".
To speed up play of songs, your unit has cached the directory where that song "was" listed. Windows (DOS) does not erase programs by default when deleted. It takes the first letter of the "deleted song and changes it to an unprintable character (similar to a space) and tells the FAT (file allocation table) that the area it is still sitting in on the disk/drive/flash disk that it is up for grabs.
It still exists at the location it was before "deleting" it. It's like removing the house number off a phone directory ...it still exists and persons knowing where you live can still find the house. The radio knows where that stored "favorite" song lived and just bypasses the directory and ignores the FAT.
It then plays the song...
Similar to you putting something in the trash can... It still exists UNTIL you physically remove that item by moving it to the garbage truck or burning/smashing it. You can still retrieve that item up till the time the item has been physically destroyed...
There are programs that will allow you to retrieve files "deleted". They replace the first letter with ANY printable/viewable letter and tell the FAT that area is no longer "up for grabs" (could be written over).
I have no idea how to add information in the area to the left of the post. I tried to do that yesterday as you suggested, but nothing on the site seems to tell me how to do that. The fields are not available in my "profile" page, which would seem to be the logical place. It's probably very simple to do and I just missed it, so if you can lead me to that water, I'll be glad to drink.
About the "trash" note. I am using a Mac, not a PC. But the "trash" deletion info is probably the same for both.
Anyway, how do I delete a file from the thumb drive and not leave the ghost file for the radio's USB to cache?
I'm not a "techie" like Dave, but will try to help you with your profile info
- go to the top of this page and select USER CP
- on the left under YOUR PROFILE, select EDIT YOUR DETAILS
- scroll down and you will see LOCATION (Where you live) and then a bit further down VEHICLE(s) THAT YOU OWN
- then click on SAVE CHANGES
regarding your flash drive, (not sure what size it is), but perhaps it might work (but don't know if this applies to MAC as I haven't used that system for years) but on my PC you can bypass the "going to the trash" by right clicking and pressing the shift key and select delete (you get a message saying "Are you sure you want to permanently delete this file?) and it deletes it completely. I haven't tested this in the case of a flash drive, as when I add tracks to my flash drive for my UVO system, I usually reformat the flash drive and then update all the tracks, so not sure if that will solve your problem.
To get rid of these files put the drive in your Mac and when it is ready then empty the trash from the trashcan icon. Then safely remove the drive and it will no longer play the deleted tracks. You get the same problem on Macs and most Linux systems.