Kia Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Does anyone know if the (tcm) trans. computer module can be reset manually on a US. 2006 2.0L 4cyl, I already replaced the range sensor and deleted the trouble codes but the trans. Is still stuck in (limp mode) 2nd gear.
 

·
Registered
1999 Kia Sephia, 2016 Kia Optima SXL, 2019 Kia Soul Plus
Joined
·
1,110 Posts
Does anyone know if the (tcm) trans. computer module can be reset manually?
Sportage was sold in different countries, years and engine sizes. We need some basic info from you to determine whether resetting it is possible or not. Year, engine size and country you are in would be a good start. Please add this info to your profile so we don't have to ask this everytime you post a question.
 

·
Registered
06 Sportage/2012 Navara V6 TD
Joined
·
304 Posts
If you read his entire message, it says a US 2006 2.0l 4 Cylinder.

According to the Kiatechinfo.com website, the transmission is an F4A42-2, common to the 2.7l V6 (what I have) and the 2.0l 4 cylinder, plus hyundai's and other makes as well (not just korean vehicles). That being the case, the only way to have the TCM reset is via the dealer or perhaps an automatic transmission specialist.

I was having transmission troubles , (harsh changes), not like you are, but I then got it reset and no more problems.

Terry
 

·
Registered
1999 Kia Sephia, 2016 Kia Optima SXL, 2019 Kia Soul Plus
Joined
·
1,110 Posts
tysinbad: Haha, you got me. Especially after tysinbad edited his post almost 3 hours after I posted mine.
twizted1: tysinbad is correct, partially. The only thing resetting will do is reset the adaptive values (the shift points the TCM learns from the way you drive). It will not repair any present issue caused by electrical issues or faulty parts.
 
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
Top