Kia Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
2006 Kia Sportage LX, V6, 2WD
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I'm a newb to this forum. I've had my '06 Sportage V6 for about 4 years now, and I love the hell out of it.

I've got a situation bubbling up concerning the towing capacity of my Sportage, so please bear with me while I explain.

My boyfriend and I will be moving up to Eugene Oregon in the next 2-3 years, after I can save up some money for college (starting a 2nd career path). Both of us are DIY enthusiasts, mine being on the craft and home decor side, and his on the woodworking and building side. We've always had a dream of building our own vardo or gypsy wagon. Financially we're in a position to realize that dream, and he wants to start looking around for a trailer to use as a base, ideally to be towed by my Sportage. The idea is that we'd take the vardo up to on a long roadtrip from San Diego to Eugene, taking our sweet time, like a week or two to get there.

I see from my owner's manual that WITH BRAKES, I can tow up to 2000lbs. I would insist that we get a braked system for safety/liability reasons.

Here's my problem. I rely on this car totally to get me to work and back everyday, and I will certainly need it once I start university/post grad up in Oregon with out of town internships and whatnot. I'm worried that towing something like this will fry my tranny if we max out the weight.