Kia Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi group,

New here, but I've been trying to keep my '04 Sorento road worthy. I know this systems gets a bazillion posts from the DIY crowd, and I'm not just blind posting, I've done some research on my problem. I just rebuilt the TOD t-case, mostly due to a busted wave spring. Replaced that and the clutch pack. Got the case reinstalled, and guess what? It still 'bangs'. I'm still learning what I can about this TOD system, but what appears to be happening is the armature is not actuating properly. If the TCCS fuse is inplace, it's not applying the correct (or any?) voltage to the clutch pack. I pulled the fuse, no more banging, but also no AWD.

After some investigating, it's likely the contoller module. So, primary question I have is: where the heck is it? I have some breakdown drawings from KIA, but simply put, I don't know where to physically find the control modules for the TOD. I think one is under the front passenger floor/drivetrain hump? The other appears to be up under the dash. No idea how to take apart only what I need to. I've got an electrical background, and understand I can't just slap any ole' module in, so I'd like to find the PN's of these controllers in my rig. I've put some serious offroad miles on this thing, and I want it back 'right'. It's incredibly capable where I've needed it.

Advice, and input from those of you who've t-shot this system, and ripped apart the dash and floor, is much appreciated. Pics would be super helpful.

It's been parked and now I've got a noisy lifter on #2, and a misfire. Yay. It runs, I'll troubleshoot that later, when I'm in the mood to pull a fuel rail. Rainy season will be here soon, and I'd like my on demand AWD back :)

TIA
Best,
Todd in OR

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
How is your tire wear?
Where did you measure voltage to clutch pack?