Kia Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
06 Sedona LX, 06 Sedona EX, 14 Forte EX, 11 Sportage EX, 11 Forte 5-door SX, 15 K900 VIP+
1,143 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am shopping around for some used tires. My EX Sedona has 235/60R17 tires. I found a really good price on a set of 235/55R17 tires. I realize that a smaller aspect ratio will make the overall diameter less. Currently, my Sedona's speedometer reads fast. When it reads 70, I'm actually only going about 67. I'm just wondering if by going with these tires, would my speedometer actually read more accurate? I know a lot about tires, but I'm not good with all the math involved. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
Cerato S Hatch Auto
1,236 Posts
55s will be 3.4% smaller OD, so will spin faster at any given speed. e.g. travelling at a real 67 MPH, your speedo will show 72 instead of 70 MPH.

·
Registered
06 Sedona LX, 06 Sedona EX, 14 Forte EX, 11 Sportage EX, 11 Forte 5-door SX, 15 K900 VIP+
1,143 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So I'd be better off with a 65? It would probably give a little less harsh of a ride, too.....there is a noticeable difference between the 225/70R16s on my LX. I can easily find 55s and 65s, but for some reason the 60s are nearly non-existent.

·
Registered
09 Grand Carnival
62 Posts
I disagree with that calculation.

The engineers would have calibrated the speedo for a certain diametre tyre, knowing its roll out, or distance covered per revolution.
Based on this, the rpm of the tyre at 70mph can be calculated, and based on the gearing the speed of the output shaft of the gearbox can also be calculated.

Changing the diametre of the tyres does not affect (effect?) the rpm of the tyre/gearbox output that the speedo is sensing at 70mph. The car is traveling less distance per revolution of the tyre - less distance per minute - which will give a slower speed at an indicated 70mph.

Hope this made sense - its been a long day.

·
Registered
1,143 Posts
Discussion Starter #5