Kia Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all im new at this so bear with me.

i just got my 2004 sorento 3.5 4x4 and i want to modify it performance wise you know engine and stuff.
i have been searching the web but all i found were german web sites.
can any one help me in finding performance parts in the us. thanx. :57:

·
Registered
car
4,209 Posts
There isnt too much out there for the Sorento performace wise. I have had my Sorento since May of 04. I have been a member in some of the Kia websites since then and have not come accross anything yet.
Got any pics of your Sorento??
Welcome to the site! :)

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanx for the welcome, i guess that i will have to fabricate something my self although custom stuff are not cheap :( .
will do for those pic's

·
Registered
39 Posts
I am located in the UK and got a tuning kit for the 04 Sorento 2.5 Diesel XS Auto. The improvement of the kit is great, I can now at least trail an X5.. earlier I didn't even see his rear lights. MPG's gone like mad though :) due to my foot.

·
Registered
18 Posts
I am curious on what is in the tuning kit that makes the engine more powerful considering that the diesel engine is already turbocharged. Does it have anything to do with increasing the boost pressure of the turbocharger?

Will it not affect the warranty of the vehicle?

Also, have you tried driving at normal speeds to check if you can get the same mileage prior to installing the tuning kit?

How much did the tuning kit cost you? Is it made by KIA or by an after market manufacturer?

Is it something that a weekend mechanic can install by himself? About how long does it take to install? If I decide to remove the tuning kit in the future, is it as simple as unbolting it?

Thanks in advance. :)

·
Registered
39 Posts