Kia Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
KIA Sedona 2004
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yesterday I took my new Sedona in for its first ever service (10,000 miles since Christmas.) There was no courtesy car available so my partner had to follow me in her car. 5 hours later I picked it up, apparently fully serviced.

I say apparently fully serviced because,
1) I had to ask for the service sheet after being told “Oh we don’t normally hand those out now”. I said that I shouldn’t ‘normally’ have to ask for it, but I want it please.
2) When I looked at the service sheet, (it says ‘Visual Healthcheck’) and is one of those ‘ticky boxes’ sheets, I couldn’t believe my eyes when I read it! There was absolutely no ‘ticky box’ for ‘oil change’, nor was there a box for ‘oil filter’ or ‘air filter’, and no box for ‘tyre pressures’.

As an engineer, I do realise that a diesel engine should have its oil and filter changed after its first 10,000miles, and probably at least every 10,000 miles after that! So why is there no mention at all of an ‘oil change’ or ‘change the oil filter’ on the official Kia ‘service’ sheet? Also being an automatic, why is there not even a sniff of ‘check gearbox oil’ or ‘change gearbox oil’ for a later service? The only ‘ticky box’ that mentions ‘oil’ comes under the section described as ‘Underbonnet’ and is in fact ‘engine oil level’, nothing more than that.

Under the heading of ‘brakes’, the mechanic has written, “ Pads wearing, may require replacement at NEXT service”!!!!

Excuse me but am I missing something here? I wonder just what they do for a service?

John

·
Registered
562 Posts
Hello Kirky,

I agree with Murphwiz, it doesn't.

Be that as it may Kirky you need to seek assurance this service has been carried out fully, phone the service manager, get him to confirm in writing what was actually done to your vehicle.

Read Ebod's post, "1st view under the covers" and replies, follow his lead and complain to Kia direct if necessary.