Kia Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am wondering if anyone has had the same problem. I am a tech at an independent shop and was recently given a 1999 Kis Sportage. I hardly runs. It was at another shop where they replaced the coils, plugs, wires, and timing belt. I have good fuel pressure. I am getting white smoke and a hard misfire on number 3 code(PO303). I have gone back over the vehicle to check their work. Timing is right on. I suspect an injector problem. I ran 2 cans of injector cleaner and the truck ran great. But after sitting for a week now runs like crap again. I have pulled the injectors and sent them out to be flow tested and cleaned. They all checked the same at 16.6 ohms spec is 13.8. So I am now waiting to hear word on the injectors. I have had 3 other sportages with simular problems. I cleaned the injectors and all turned out great. Has anyone else had problems with injectors? Is there anywhere else I should look?

·
Registered
2003 Kia Sorento
606 Posts
White smoke? I bet the exhaust smells funny. It sounds like you're looking in the wrong place because it sounds like you might have coolant leaking into the #3 cylinder. Try doing a pressure test on the cooling system and pull the plugs to see what they look like. After you pull the plugs, the Sportage is perfect for looking into the plug hole to see the coolant covering the piston, depending on how bad the leak is.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Already pressure checked. Not overheating or losing coolant. The white smoke smells like raw fuel not coolant. The plugs are really fouled. It is almost like an injector leaking down.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6