Kia Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi guys,

Just took a look at a friend's Rio. He was complaining that the rear brakes made a clunking noise when applied and after sitting for a few days the rear brakes were really dragging.

So I took off the drums on the back end and found that the linings had completely detached from the shoes on one side and were in the process of coming off on the other side! The drums themselves however are not in great shape either (fairly scored) so I'd like to replace them too. This is my first time working on a Kia, so I'm not sure exactly needs to be done to change up the drums. Is the drum integrated with the hub, or can the hub be pressed out and then onto the new drum? If the hub and drum are one assembly and cannot be seperated do replacement drums come with bearing races already installed?

Thanks guys

EDIT: It's a 2001 btw

·
Registered
2001 Kia Rio 5-speed
110 Posts
exact vehicle that i own ;)

the rear drums are held on by the spindle nut. this nut holds the tapered bearings tight to hold your wheel on.

when i changed my rear breaks, i changed everything!!! new inner and outer bearings, new seal, new shoes and a new 'crush' nut (i dont know the official name for it, but you do crush the end to keep it in place, poor design if you ask me)

the other components, which activate the parking breaks, should be thoroughly cleaned in a solvent tank (varsol) along with taking a fine pick scraper and follow those tiny lines where the two moving pieces mate. i found mine to be slightly caked in break dust.

before re-assembling, i took a can of break cleaner, cleaned the back plate, primed it and painted it (to prevent rust). during re-assembly, i used anti-sieze in all the contact points that the shoes touch, along with the parking break cable. this stuff does not drip when the heat of the breaks gets to it, so it is far safer then grease.