Kia Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2016 Sorento LX FWD
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm brand new to Kia products. Have a 2016 Kia Sorento LX FWD with about 52K that I bought used from a KIA dealer with 42K about 10 months ago. The CARFAX stated that the dealership had replaced the steering wheel about 50 mi. prior to selling it to me.

I did not notice it during the test drive (city driving / all pavement), but when I got it back home I noticed that on the short gravel road to my house, and even in my gravel driveway, the steering column makes a fairly loud clunking or rattling noise.

When the steering wheel is turned, I'm not feeling any sticking issues or experiencing unexpected steering control issues as have been reported by many at NHTSA site: 2016 KIA SORENTO SUV FWD). Search "Sorento" and "Steering" and that issue is like 99% of the results...surprised that it's not gotten to recall status.

My situation is different. There doesn't seem to be any axial play in the steering column. As long as the wheel is turned smoothly as you would in normal use, where the angle of rotation is fairly significant, you don't hear or feel anything. However, if the wheel is turned somewhat rapidly back and forth ("jiggled") over a very short range of travel, you can feel and hear this rattling sound, and it is definitely coming from the steering column. I did this with the car sitting still, in P. Conceivably, this lines up with the observation that the rattle happens more on gravel roads, because the less-smooth surfaces probably cause very slight angle changes from the tires up through the column as the vehicle goes down the road.

Only rarely will I hear / feel this on concrete or asphalt pavement. But even on relatively smooth gravel roads it's common--almost constant--and even at low speeds the sound and feel of the rattle is fairly intense.