Kia Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2013 Kia Rio LX
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
first off I'm a car newbie and this is my first kia purchase and am in love with it!! :D

I was wanting to put projection headlights in my 2013 rio lx and also put HIDs (I don't want to cut the dust cap in the headlights I have on now thats why I want the projection headlights) but I guess since its such a new car there arent that many aftermarket parts out yet. So I was wondering, after looking at some pictures, the 2011 and 2012 rio's look about the same as the 2013. Can anyone confirm this? If they are that would be awesome.

Also has anyone else switched their headlights to projection? Where did you get them from?

·
Registered
former owner of a 2016 Soul SX 2.0L - Caribbean Blue
8,527 Posts
the only connection between the 2011 Rio and the 2012 is the name - it was completely overhauled for 2012 hardly much changed for the 2013 model.

·
Premium Member
'12 Rio SLS, '13 XR6 Turbo, '15 XR8 S/C
995 Posts
the only connection between the 2011 Rio and the 2012 is the name - it was completely overhauled for 2012 hardly much changed for the 2013 model.
the UB Rio was released in 2011, i'm guessing that's what the OP means when they say the 2011 and 2012 look similar

·
Registered
2013 Kia Rio LX
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I must have not paid too much attention to the 2011. I am talking about the sedan version if that makes a difference.
But you said that hardly much changed for the 12 and 13 so does that mean the parts are pretty much interchangeable?

·
Registered
8,527 Posts
I must have not paid too much attention to the 2011. I am talking about the sedan version if that makes a difference.
But you said that hardly much changed for the 12 and 13 so does that mean the parts are pretty much interchangeable?
sedan or 5-door were both completely overhauled for 2012.

These were the changes for the 2013 over the 2012 model

Rio Sedan and Rio 5-door