Kia Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys & Gals,

Brought a 2016/17 Kia Sorento in late 2016 with the older head unit that doesn't support Android Auto/Apple Carplay etc.

Apparently the head unit I have is no longer supported and no more updates are being released for it including for the map side of things. This is despite being told we should get three updates or something.

So I"m wondering if anyone has tried putting in the head unit from a 2017/18 model sorrento into the previous model sorento. Does anyone have any details on the head unit such as model numbers, pictures etc??

Thanks

Stewart
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
95 Posts
Hi guys & Gals,

Brought a 2016/17 Kia Sorento in late 2016 with the older head unit that doesn't support Android Auto/Apple Carplay etc.

Apparently the head unit I have is no longer supported and no more updates are being released for it including for the map side of things. This is despite being told we should get three updates or something.

So I"m wondering if anyone has tried putting in the head unit from a 2017/18 model sorrento into the previous model sorento. Does anyone have any details on the head unit such as model numbers, pictures etc??

Thanks

Stewart
I bought a Canadian 2016 with the headunit that doesn't support Android Auto/Car play but got the update from a map update (had to purchase it). Works great now.

Mine is the SXL model though; I can't speak for other versions of the car.

You don't say if you are Canadian; and getting updates seem to be an ordeal. However I have since updated again after the map update with this site.

https://www.kia.ca/softwareupgrade

I can't comment how to manually get the updates if you aren't Canadian.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I bought a Canadian 2016 with the headunit that doesn't support Android Auto/Car play but got the update from a map update (had to purchase it). Works great now.

Mine is the SXL model though; I can't speak for other versions of the car.

You don't say if you are Canadian; and getting updates seem to be an ordeal. However I have since updated again after the map update with this site.

**Removed quoted link as I don't have sufficient posts ;)

I can't comment how to manually get the updates if you aren'
t Canadian.

I swear I posted this only moments ago but anywhoo....

Thanks frayedsew for your response. I should have mentioned that this is for a 2016 Australian SLI Sorento.

I believe i can infact purchase updates or at least map updates for around $250 per update. At least that is what I have heard from others. However when I purchased the car i was told I'd get three updates over the course of the next three years for free. This turns out not to be the case and I won't received any updates for free and the headunit is no longer being supported by the manufacturer. There is no update for the headunit to add in Android Auto/Apple Car Play.

So that is one reason why I was interested in find out if I can put in the 2018 model head unit from an Australian Sorento into my 2016 so I can use apple car play etc. However I haven't been able to find anyone who has done it or knows if its possible. Infact I don't even know who the manufacturer is of the unit so I can see if I can get a third party harness of something to get it working.

I do know its not compatible OTB , at least according to Kia Australia. Apparent they are incompatible hardware wise.

So looking for any inforamtion of anyone who has done it, or knows more about the 2018 head unit.

Thanks

Stewart
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,499 Posts
Hi guys & Gals,

Brought a 2016/17 Kia Sorento in late 2016 with the older head unit that doesn't support Android Auto/Apple Carplay etc.

Apparently the head unit I have is no longer supported and no more updates are being released for it including for the map side of things. This is despite being told we should get three updates or something.

So I"m wondering if anyone has tried putting in the head unit from a 2017/18 model sorrento into the previous model sorento. Does anyone have any details on the head unit such as model numbers, pictures etc??

Thanks

Stewart
Can you please post a pic of your current head unit? Unless market specific, all 16 models with nav should be able to upgrade to android auto. If you have a nav model...you could try creating an account in kia.com/us and using a fake sxl vin, dowload the android software...better off finding out the feasibility. Lets begin with the pic.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,499 Posts
So that is one reason why I was interested in find out if I can put in the 2018 model head unit from an Australian Sorento into my 2016 so I can use apple car play etc. However I haven't been able to find anyone who has done it or knows if its possible. Infact I don't even know who the manufacturer is of the unit so I can see if I can get a third party harness of something to get it working.
1) is the Aussy 2018 Sorento the new facelifted model? Or same as 2016?

2) if it's the same, I dont see why it would not work..

3) another option is to get a chandroid (aftermarket android unit) that are compatible with our Sorentos (aliexpress - infidini/asottu)

4) in my previous post, by fake I meant taken from a real SX model (for sale). In NA, it's easy to find the vin number online.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Can you please post a pic of your current head unit? Unless market specific, all 16 models with nav should be able to upgrade to android auto. If you have a nav model...you could try creating an account in kia.com/us and using a fake sxl vin, dowload the android software...better off finding out the feasibility. Lets begin with the pic.
Thanks for your response! According to KIA Australia, my head unit can't be upgraded to Android/Apple Car play. Whats more no further updates are available. At least according to them.

I may consider getting a Chinese aftermarket version if this fails.....but will have to see....

Thanks
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
1) is the Aussy 2018 Sorento the new facelifted model? Or same as 2016?

2) if it's the same, I dont see why it would not work..

Unfortunately they are not the same. They changed the design and its slightly different with a new head unit. I have no idea though who makes the head units of either version though, so I can't confirm either way.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,499 Posts
Thanks for your response! According to KIA Australia, my head unit can't be upgraded to Android/Apple Car play. Whats more no further updates are available. At least according to them.

I may consider getting a Chinese aftermarket version if this fails.....but will have to see....

Thanks
I would give it try to the fake NorthAmerica owner method. But be aware that you might mess up your head unit completely if the sw is incompatible. Chandroids are proven to work just fine and there is enough information is this forum to install it properly.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,499 Posts
1) is the Aussy 2018 Sorento the new facelifted model? Or same as 2016?

2) if it's the same, I dont see why it would not work..

Unfortunately they are not the same. They changed the design and its slightly different with a new head unit. I have no idea though who makes the head units of either version though, so I can't confirm either way.
Ok...they new model. The only way to confirm if it is possible or not, is through the service manual. Buy a pdf copy online and compare the pinout of both units...another concern is whether the dashboard shape is exactly the same, you might need to swap the dash face plates.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Ok...they new model. The only way to confirm if it is possible or not, is through the service manual. Buy a pdf copy online and compare the pinout of both units...another concern is whether the dashboard shape is exactly the same, you might need to swap the dash face plates.
Okay thanks, I'll do some more googling and see what I can come up with. Although I think i might just go the aftermarket Chinese versions ;). Might be easier....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
I have installed aftermarket Smarty Trend head unit in my Kia Sportage. It is working on Android system and I think it is the better system for a car nowadays. I think it will be easier and better for your car, than the old one sound/navigation system reanimation.
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Did you get any new information? I have the same head unit and I want to update the firmware for apple car play.. but I don't know how can I do this...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
Hey mate, I'm in Sydney. Andy I have done the aftermarket install on my 2016 Platinum.
There's a few things that have to be used to have the climate control display through the head unit. You have to install an amp too if you want to keep the factory sub, but all doable. Even kept the factory reverse camera.
I have a kenwood dnx9180dabs, poops all over the factory head unit. Would never look back, we love it.
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
27 Posts
Hey Pakman, I was hoping you'd pop up here on this thread. So all went well with the install and the climate all works through the screen ok? Can you post any pics of what the screen looks like when you're using the climate control? Have you noticed a discernible sound difference? What is better about the new unit as opposed to the old one? I can't remember if you had the top of the line Hardon Kardon system or not or was it a lower grade?
Hope I'm not hijacking the thread by asking but I do think this helps the OP anyway.
Also to the OP, I too got told I would not be able to redeem any of my promised map updates via my dealer. Got told KIA head office had renegged on that deal due to costs associated. So I rang KIA head office here in Sydney and blasted them. In the end they relented and gave my one update which I have just had done. Not sure how long you have your car for but in my experience using the KIA nav as opposed to Google maps, Google is way superior. I use the KIA nav when I have a basic suburban address. Any further than that then I use Google as it is way better. Recently I drove to Adelaide from Sydney and KIA nav route was around 120km further than Googles was. My mate used his Google map, I used my KIA as a comparison. Suffice to say he arrived over an hour earlier than I did
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
Hey Pakman, I was hoping you'd pop up here on this thread. So all went well with the install and the climate all works through the screen ok? Can you post any pics of what the screen looks like when you're using the climate control? Have you noticed a discernible sound difference? What is better about the new unit as opposed to the old one? I can't remember if you had the top of the line Hardon Kardon system or not or was it a lower grade?
Hope I'm not hijacking the thread by asking but I do think this helps the OP anyway.
Also to the OP, I too got told I would not be able to redeem any of my promised map updates via my dealer. Got told KIA head office had renegged on that deal due to costs associated. So I rang KIA head office here in Sydney and blasted them. In the end they relented and gave my one update which I have just had done. Not sure how long you have your car for but in my experience using the KIA nav as opposed to Google maps, Google is way superior. I use the KIA nav when I have a basic suburban address. Any further than that then I use Google as it is way better. Recently I drove to Adelaide from Sydney and KIA nav route was around 120km further than Googles was. My mate used his Google map, I used my KIA as a comparison. Suffice to say he arrived over an hour earlier than I did
Hey mate, yeah been going good aye. I'll put up some photos in a little bit.
What I found was aerpro and their adapters work, but not how their instructions say. But got it sorted.
What I love by having the aftermarket head unit is that I have android auto and Apple carplay. Dvd player, google maps of course and the ability to actually tune the stereo so it sounds good.
I have the harman kardon one, so I had to replace the factory amp, but it's pretty easy to do.
My head unit is the kenwood dnx9180dabs, it has a navigation system in it too, so we can use both. The steering wheel controls work as before.
You do lose the nav and stereo information from the dash screen on the cluster, but that's hardly missed by getting all the other goodies.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
And I used the kenwood xr900-5 amp, it fits pretty nicely under the seat.
I am replacing it with the jl audio hd900/5 amp at some point, but I had the kenwood from my last car and it fit on the factory amp mount, where the jl didn't. Will need to make a different amp rack for the bigger amp.
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Hi Pakman

I am also looking at the infodapter from Aerpro for the interface between the steering wheel control and the aftermarket stereo.
A few questions:
1. Does your car have the ISG? If so will the climate control show up when the climate control deactivates/activates the fan?
2. Are you able to show parking sensor and the rear camera on the same screen?
3. Are you able to activate voice activation from the steering wheel button?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
Hi Pakman

I am also looking at the infodapter from Aerpro for the interface between the steering wheel control and the aftermarket stereo.
A few questions:
1. Does your car have the ISG? If so will the climate control show up when the climate control deactivates/activates the fan?
2. Are you able to show parking sensor and the rear camera on the same screen?
3. Are you able to activate voice activation from the steering wheel button?
Firstly, what's the ISG? It does show up the climate control display through the head unit. Not great, but it works, what I mean by not great is that unlike the standard stereo that just shows the climate control display on the top quarter of the screen, the infodapter uses the whole display to display the details. Then is displayed for 3-5 seconds then back to the normal home screen.
The rear camera works with another wire harness from Aerpro. Apvki03 I think it is, doesn't show up rear sensors on the screen, but mine still beeps on the dash. So I could say I have retained that pretty well.
As for the voice recognition, I have the pre facelift model that doesn't have that button on the steering wheel, as that button is the mute button on mine. It my be possible to get it hooked up, but the settings are in the infodapter as to what that button press does.
If you have any other questions, just ask, I'll try to do my best.
 
1 - 20 of 22 Posts
Top