Kia Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recently, I started having strange problems with my 2003 Kia Sorento. After starting the engine (when cold), I push the accelerator pedal but there is no response (keeps idling or not more than 1300 rpm..it depends). Moreover, idling is irregular and I don't have any error codes. After restart, everything comes back to normal. What do you think about this? Any ideas? :confused:

· Registered
2006 Kia Sorento 3.5 5sp Auto
267 Posts
I am no expert, so don't take this as solid advice.
But sounds like a possibility of one of the sensors (either crank or camshaft sensor) being a little dodgy...
The rough idling makes me think that more than anything else.

(forgot which sensor it is, but seem that on some cars they last about 100000km. (my sisters vectra had it and the previous owner of my sorento had it just before i purchased it. i saw the receipt in the car)

· Registered
1 Posts
Idle and acceleration problem

Good day
I am new to this so please bear with me. I have a Kia Picanto 2005 LX that I have had from new. Yhe motor has done 240 000 odd km's. Recently the car has started acting like she has a flat spot. Someone suggested I change the spark plug leads which I duly did and it seemed to ease the problem. As of today the flat spot has gotten progressively worse. When accelerating from idle the car has this flat spot but once past two thousand RPM it seems to stabilise. However I called the mechanic back now as now whilst idling it is hunting and the idle is irratic. Both mechanics that came are dumbfounded as am I.

Please help me. I am my wits end. This car has never given me a day of hassle till now.

I would appreciate any help as tot he cause of this problem

· Registered
05 Kia Sorento LX 4x4
279 Posts
Good day