Kia Forum banner

1 - 21 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
2019 Kia Sedona
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm new to the Kia forum so thanks for having me.

I'm having an issue with my wife's 2019 Sedona, usually on a vehicle this new I'd just bring it to the dealer and let them take care of it, but that's another problem I'm working on right now. Long story short is we got an unexpected posting to northern Canada and the nearest dealership is 800km away. I've been on VW and Chevy truck forums before and have done lots of my own work, but I'm struggling to find good info on this van.

We noticed this (very cold, like -40 cold) winter that the van won't heat up. Very little cabin heat and the coolant temp gauge barely moves. I'm still trying to work the warranty angle but it's not looking good so I'm going to start doing some diagnosing myself. Problem is we also live in a small town where you never go on the highway and mostly have short drives, but even with that my wife has asked around and everyone else with a minivan (so similar cabin and engine sizes) has been able to get there's to warm up. So short of taking it for a cruise down the highway to nowhere (its on my to do list) I'm wondering where to start this trouble shooting. I'm thinking maybe the thermostat is stuck open and so the coolant never gets a chance to properly heat up.

Anyone have any good info on where to start? Or where I could find some decent diagrams or technical info for this van? Anything helps and is appreciated.

·
Registered
2019 Kia Sportage. SX with AWD. 2.0L Direct Injected Turbocharged & Intercooled Gas.
632 Posts
Call a dealership and explain your predicament and ask to talk with their best tech. In the meantime put a piece of cardboard in front of the radiator to cut cooling capacity. Good luck!

·
Registered
2019 Kia Sedona
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3