Kia Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
1997 Kia Sephia base model
5speed 81K miles

Ive been doing some research on the subject and im still at a loss.
One night realized my car had no Dash lights. Figured i'd be ok because i've been driving stick for a couple years and can tell what speed im at, except a guy pulled next to me and told me i have no tail lights. I pulled over and got out my owners manual and found the tail light fuse by the driverside kickpanel. I took it out because i seen it was blown and replaced it with a spare and it blew again. This tells me theres a short to ground somewhere. I've looked at others peoples post and tried to find the TNS Relay. I dont have a TNS relay and the closest thing to it is a BTN main fuse in the under hood fuse box. I've made sure the dimmer wasnt off and was on at full brightness how i left it when i first got the car. I need this fixed before my wife has the baby so if anyone can help me as detailed as possible id appreciate.

·
Super Moderator
2008 SpectraSX, 2014 Optima LX,2006 Jeep Liberty, Linux Mint Mate
6,902 Posts
Here is the schematics for the tail/dash/+ wiring...
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-YuNuTyh57XUGdyX05tRVc2NzQ/edit?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-YuNuTyh57XVW1GTlRlSkw2WDA/edit?usp=sharing

Quite a lot of circuitry off of the "left hand tail lamp" fuse..
You might want to disconnect the dash dimmer module first and try another fuse.. If it doesn't blow then replace the dimmer module...
This circuit also feeds through the door wiring and may break from opening and closing the doors..
Hope this helps...If not leave another post in this thread...
Dave

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3