Kia Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here guys,

First time owner of a recently purchased Kia Optima 2003, 25k miles. Has everything except leather. I bought a 4 cyl because of the gas, the Kia because of the price and generally positive reviews on the net. I found this site after my purchase and the na sayers have me a little nervous about my purchase.

No problems so far, 26 mpg in highway/city combined.

I'm looking for other Optima owners that may be able to offer advice regarding maintainence. I've always done my own oil, etc (even rebuilt an engine or two over the years, when time was not a factor).

Do a lot of people change their own timing belts? / do moderate work on their Optima?

Are there any web sites that can provide info pertaining to maintaining my purchase?

Anyone have any experience with KIA dealerships in Alabama, specifically Birmingham Alabama?

THNX guys/girls!

·
Registered
2007 Optima, 2007 Sorento
714 Posts
Welcome to the forum Frank! I own a '02 Optima LX-V6 and consider it one of the best cars I have ever owned and driven. People who are critics of Kia (and its sister Hyundai) are still looking back to earlier years when both brands had a lot of problems. Remember how Honda and Toyota were made fun of and considered crap by Americans? Well, I do. Give Kia another 3-5 years of building upon its solid model line with continued quality and I think Kia's reputation will shine well.
My Optima is very nice and run excellent. Quality built. Sure there will always be minor details Kia can improve upon each year and it has with the Optima since my purchase. I am extremely pleased with my car. No regrets whatsoever.