Kia Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am new to the KIA world as I know nothing about the brand. I have an appointment today to go see a 2002 KIA Spectra. Was wondering if you guys could please give me some pointers on what to look for on a 2002 Spectra (aside from the typical kick around the tires and stuff when buying a used car).

What I mean is, what are these cars known for in terms of common problems?

-How long do tranny's usually last? Are they reliable?
-How long do engines usually lat? Are they reliable?
-What would you consider "too much mileage"?
-Would you reccomend a 2002 Spectra?

If some of you can give me your advise on your personal experiences I would appreciate it.

Thanks!

-Sully Wully

·
Super Moderator
2008 SpectraSX, 2014 Optima LX,2006 Jeep Liberty, Linux Mint Mate
6,922 Posts
Hi..
I would recommend a newer version (2004.5 on) for sure... The 2002 was built when KIA was having financial problems...The basic engine design is similar to the newer models but the ability to go higher mileage didn't seem to be there (2002)... The later 2004.5~ Spectras have been known to go over 300k miles...
The (automatic) transmissions were weak and 100k was about their limit..

The newer Spectras are a great car "if" they have been maintained and the timing belts are replaced every 5yrs/60k miles and the tranny fluids are drained and refilled every 30k miles.... They don't have rust problems the earlier models had also... So a well taken care of Spectra with 100k+ miles on it is a car I would not be afraid of...I wouldn't say that for a 2002...
Dave

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi..
I would recommend a newer version (2004.5 on) for sure... The 2002 was built when KIA was having financial problems...The basic engine design is similar to the newer models but the ability to go higher mileage didn't seem to be there (2002)... The later 2004.5~ Spectras have been known to go over 300k miles...