Kia Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The wife's Sportage stopped accelarating on her way to work. The car would not accelarate above 20-30 mph. A diagnostic computer indicated that the crank shaft positional sensor needed to be replaced. I have replaced the sensor, yet the car would not start. I even bought a OPD2 scanner, which indicates no trouble codes - states the car should be running - yet it won't turn over. Dealer states the car is out of warranty, so I need help repairing it. Any ideas or suggections would be appreciated. :(
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
349 Posts
What was the original DTC that was pulled from the ECM to indicate that the crankshaft position sensor was bad? It should have been either a P0335 or P0336. If it was a different DTC then the crankshaft position sensor isn't the source of the problem.

If it was indeed one of those DTC's and the engine still won't run then you need to suspect a wiring issue between the sensor and the ECM. I have that section of the shop manual and electrical manual in PDF format. Send me an e-mail at [email protected].

What I find a little troubling is your original problem of lack of acceleration. Crankshaft position sensors usually either work correctly or fail completely and the engine stops. Very unusual that one would work partially.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
<_<
Originally posted by Axe Man@Nov 29 2004, 05:31 AM
What was the original DTC that was pulled from the ECM to indicate that the crankshaft position sensor was bad? It should have been either a P0335 or P0336. If it was a different DTC then the crankshaft position sensor isn't the source of the problem.

If it was indeed one of those DTC's and the engine still won't run then you need to suspect a wiring issue between the sensor and the ECM. I have that section of the shop manual and electrical manual in PDF format. Send me an e-mail at [email protected].

What I find a little troubling is your original problem of lack of acceleration. Crankshaft position sensors usually either work correctly or fail completely and the engine stops. Very unusual that one would work partially.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
349 Posts
Is the timing belt still intact? Remove the screws from the plastic upper timing belt cover and pull it back carefully. You should see the timing belt going up and over the camshaft sprockets. If no belt then it's broken. The engine won't be damaged if it is but obviously it won't run.
 

·
Premium Member
2015 Buick Verano "Leather Group", 2015 Kia Optima Hybrid
Joined
·
6,100 Posts
Originally posted by Axe Man@Dec 1 2004, 11:17 PM
Is the timing belt still intact? Remove the screws from the plastic upper timing belt cover and pull it back carefully. You should see the timing belt going up and over the camshaft sprockets. If no belt then it's broken. The engine won't be damaged if it is but obviously it won't run.

well I am going to have to disagree with that. If the timing belt goes on sportage, sephia, spectra or rio you WILL do engine damge. see these kia motors are interference. what that means is
In an interference engine when the belt or timing chain fails, the valves and pistons hit each other and that can cause some problems. An even worse situation would be to bend the connecting rod ). That would create a real expensive engine job.

so I hope your belt didnt break maybe just skipped a tooth or 2 to make timing way off. that would be one cause of it not starting. hope this helps.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
349 Posts
It depends on the Kia engine. Sephia and Rio engines are indeed an interference design and breaking the timing belt will damage the engine.

The Sportage DOHC engine is in fact a non-interference engine. I have personally confirmed this with an experienced Kia technician plus I have documented proof at http://www.4x4wire.com where numerous owners of DOHC Sportages have broken a timing belt and installed a new belt and NO damage occurred. Their engines ran fine afterwards.

And if you examine the Sportage shop manual you can infer that the engine is a non-interference design although it doesn't state it. The procedures in the shop manual allow you to independently turn the camshafts and crankshaft while the timing belt is OFF to line up the timing marks. If the engine were an interference design you could NOT do this.





Originally posted by 1fastkia@Dec 23 2004, 05:09 AM
well I am going to have to disagree with that. If the timing belt goes on sportage, sephia, spectra or rio you WILL do engine damge. see these kia motors are interference. what that means is
In an interference engine when the belt or timing chain fails, the valves and pistons hit each other and that can cause some problems. An even worse situation would be to bend the connecting rod ). That would create a real expensive engine job.

so I hope your belt didnt break maybe just skipped a tooth or 2 to make timing way off. that would be one cause of it not starting. hope this helps.
 

·
Registered
1999 Kia Sportage
Joined
·
131 Posts
I agree - or the main relay as well. Do you hear the fuel pump run for a few seconds when the key is turned on?
 

·
Registered
2000 Kia Sportage
Joined
·
16 Posts
Sounds Familiar

This week I ran into the exact same problem. I had replaced my camshaft position sensor about 3 months ago. Anyway my sportage lost power and when I got home it shut off and would not start. The relays checked out good the coils and plugs were working. It was getting fuel like it should. Anyway to make a long story short it was the mass air flow sensor. I took the old one out and replaced it with a new one and my sportage started up like it was new again. I knew I was getting fire and fuel so what about the right amount of air? Hope this may help.
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top