Kia Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all

my wife called me today while she was out and about. She told me her car stalled and she couldn't get it going again. we have an 07 Kia Sportage v6 FWD 2.7L.

I was also out in my vehicle and met up with her. At first I was in a real panic since we JUST got a new timing belt/water pump kit installed last week and I though "oh crap the belt broke and blew the motor" however when i showed up, first thing I did was turn the key and thankfully it was turning over.

Now, my wife is not very attentative to detail, so I basically only got "it stalled and I can't start it" I asked her if it sputtered or just died like the key was switched to the OFF position and she couldn't tell.

back to the topic, the car won't start but will turn forever. I have read crank sensors as being the culprit but I am not a mechanic and not so good at this stuff.

Anybody else encounter this issue?

As of now, the car is at the garage (had to get it towed) and waiting to hear back, but I'd like to get some internet-knowledge to at least know what I can expect to hear from my mechanic because I don't feel like letting our car sit for a week without being "diagnosed".

Thanks!

·
Registered
19 Posts
Have had this happen to me in many years of driving and both times it was the fuel pump. How many miles on your Sportage? I have the exact Sportage. I'm close to 97K miles and was thinking maybe it's time for new plugs and wires. Let us know what you find out. Thanks!

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3