Kia Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2010 CEED 1.4L (M51AZ1 / G4FA)
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi Kia forum members,

For a couple of months i'm hearing a metallic ratteling sound coming from the engine which can be heard when
  • sitting in the car
  • at rpm 2000-2100 (below or above the sound is not there)
  • in higher gears 3/4/5
  • gently accelerating or driving steady at above rpm (at idle the sound is not there)
  • Under heavier load (A/C on, more passengers, driving uphill)
  • the engine is warm (the first 10 minutes after starting the engine from cold state the sound is not yet there)
I've googled and watched video's and would like to rule out what I can or even solve it before I bring it to my mechanic. I am no car expert but know my way with tools and repairs, once replaced the timing belt on a old toyota starlet. What could it be and what can I check? The sound has been there for a couple of months now, I do not notice a difference in how the engine responds or fuel usage.

VIdeo with sound of ratteling (best example between seconds 7-9)
Sound in video hard to recognize from the enviroment sounds captured by phone.
With heavier load on the car the sound is much louder.

Car specs:
Gasoline / manual transmission
Model CEE D (M51AZ1 / G4FA)
Year: 2010
Kilometers: 173.000

Best Regards,
Joost

·
Registered
2019 Kia Sportage. SX with AWD. 2.0L Direct Injected Turbocharged & Intercooled Gas.
1,063 Posts
Any way you could attach a sound recording? At least 15 seconds worth? Open the hood and while standing in front have a friend start the vehicle. Can you hear it in park with the engine running?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Any way you could attach a sound recording? At least 15 seconds worth? Open the hood and while standing in front have a friend start the vehicle. Can you hear it in park with the engine running?