Kia Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
KIA Carnival 2000
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys...I have only just joined this forum...for the simple reason I have just purchased a lovely metallic green 2000 model Carnival.
Before you think stupid, let me say that this vehicle is in very nice condition having travelled only 150,000ks. It has everything that opens and shuts,
including cruise control and dual fuel. It obviously has an engine fault...motor is quite smokey and I suspect a valve out. Being an ex mechanic, I love a challenge!
I have a couple of questions that those in the know may have answers for...

1. Where do I find a repair manual? I know all about the Rover KV6 thingy and find the whole engine scenario quite fascinating!
2. There's no water loss or overheating problem and it's had a new short motor fitted, judging by the engine number ending in A. Am I correct in this?
3. Am I correct in thinking the A means the block has had the revised sleeves fitted?
4. I'm also assuming the LPG conversion has knocked out the valves/seats etc, does the engine not have hardened seats from new?
5. I plan to document the repair procedure here if any of you guys are interested?
6. Valve stem seals are causing the oily exhaust...(I hope) as it doesn't smoke under full throttle what d'yer think about this?
7. Was it a stupid descision to buy this lovely vehicle? LOL.

I have also done a lot of snooping and unearthed some great KIA parts outlets, as I'll need bolts, gaskets etc. It looks like an exciting time ahead... hope to
remove the heads this weekend and check things out further.

Cheers, Razz.:lol:

·
Registered
2004 Carnival, 2.5L KV6 / GV6 / K5 engine
99 Posts
Hi Razz,

Hi Guys...I have only just joined this forum...for the simple reason I have just purchased a lovely metallic green 2000 model Carnival.