Kia Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi evryone i am a newbie, so apologise if this goes into the wrong thread but desperate is an understatement.

I have a Kia sportage on a w reg 2000 petrol and has only got 84000 on the clock.

went to london a month ago everything fine went upto around 90mph engine light came on, dropped speed to 70mph light went off. approached 85 -90mph again same happened, so didn't go over 70mph light stayed off.

then it started to feel like it was constipated when pressing accelerater. when i got back took car to exhaust garage, just as i thought cat had gone.

replaced but still same problem sounding like it is running on 3 cylinders. passed it onto a mechanic i know changed coil packs was some oil in 1 of the cylinders, changed plugs. still the same but sounds ok when ticking over.

took it to Kia they said the coil packs are not OE and the computer is not reading ecu, so they put OE coil packs on. they also put OE plugs in after spending £300 quid with them and they apparently have plugged every pc they have, and they still could not find the fault and no fault codes.

so back to my Mechanics house, he has checked the timing and that is all ok

so to sum it all up it has had the following. still runs like its on 3 cyl be lucky to get 30 mph out of her.

New OE coil packs
New OE spark plugs
Compression tested
Timing is spot on
Cat been changed so all the exhaust is new

Now been made redundant so need the car for interviews coming up dont know what else to try that isnt going to cost a fortune !!!

Really apologise for blabbing on just wanted to give you all a Full explanation so hopefully will speed things up.

Was told by Kia that it had a air flow meter replaced at some point. would this be worth changing ????

Thank you in advance, really would appreciate some techy advice

Regards
Gazza:(

·
Registered
'96 Camry v6 XLE, '00 Camry LE
2,174 Posts
Greetings,

Welcome to the forum.