Kia Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
Kia Rondo 2012 LE
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm new in this forum and I'm not a mechanic so please be understandable. I think my Kia dealer try to make some extra cash on our back and I need a second piece of advice. When it rain, outdoor humidity condensing and temperature is above 0, the Kia dash lights battery and break turned on and we lost the power steering. These symptoms are there about 20 seconds and everything is back to normal. They come and go randomly. I've read that this a power issue caused by the alternator. No check engine, just the 2 lights and the power steering.

With my multimeter, before I start the car, the battery show 11.5V, which is good. When the car run, the voltage at the battery is 14V, when I push the motor the 2000 RPM and above, the voltage at the battery is 14.2V.

Now, the cherry on the cake, our Kia dealer said that this is a motor replacement. The motor, itself, runs correctly.

I've tried to spray water on the alternator connectors, no positive results meaning that I didn't reproduce the issue. This week will be a rainy week so I expect to see the problem again. Unfortunately, I don't have an OBD2 error reader, it will arrive next Sunday.

Any information, advice or input is much appreciated but I will not replace my motor, for sure.

Thank you very much for your help,

Martin

·
Registered
Kia Carens 2007
106 Posts
before I start the car, the battery show 11.5V, which is good.
No, it is definitely not good! Voltage bellow 12 V is not good, good battery shows 12.4-12.8 V, with running engine (and good alternator) more then 14 V, 14.4 V is optimum. So try to charge the battery and check the altenator (regulator on it).

See e.g. this links:

·
Registered
09 kia spectra ex,'11 Dodge Journey AWD,04 Chry. T&C, 08 Pontiac G6 gt
2,515 Posts