Kia Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We bought a new 2012 Kia Rio. The oil burns black on this car FAST. Checking the oil after the first oil change around 3000 miles at the dealer I found that at 4800 miles the oil was BLACK. I was shocked and changed it immediately myself. Checking every 500 miles since then I have found the oil very dark by 1500 miles of NORMAL driving. I have been changing oil for 40 years in many cars and have never seen this at such low miles. I intend to be changing my oil at 1500 miles or less in the future on that car. BURNT BLACK OIL IS NOT GOOD. That little engine must run hot - but I believe it only holds 3.5 quarts. That is likely why it is "burning" black, my guess. Those changing oil on this car at 3000 miles and above will be cheating themselves out of engine life no matter what they use for oil. WORD TO THE WISE HERE, watch your oil on the Rio AND Hyundai Accent. ANY comments email me at [email protected]

·
Registered
10 Optima LX, 12 Sedona LX
1,412 Posts
The oil getting dark earlier is a normal characteristic of the GDI engine. The 2.4L GDI does it also, as well as direct injected engines of other manufacturers.

·
Registered
Cerato S Hatch Auto
1,235 Posts
Black oil is not necessarily bad oil or a sign of excess heat. as well as GDI engines being prone to blackening, certain brands of oil blacken up earlier than others. Castrol oils used to be known for this.

·
Premium Member
'12 Rio SLS, '13 XR6 Turbo, '15 XR8 S/C
995 Posts
old thread i know.