Kia Forum banner

1 - 20 of 198 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone!

I am a Kia Pro Ceed 2008. 1.4 gasoline/LPG owner. Recently i was thinking of upgrading my car and adding some power.
Since i am unexperienced about tuning i googled some about adding turbo to non turbo cars. In general people say its easier/cheaper to buy a turbo car.
I dont want to do that since i love my Ceed.

My question is if there are people here who have added a turbo to non turbo Ceed, their experience and the costs.

Thank you in advance for your response!

·
Registered
863 Posts
Firstly, have you tried searching for "turbo" inside this ceed forum?

Why not sell your pro_ceed and buy a bigger petrol or diesel version?
My 1.4 petrol only has 89HP and though it goes well for that low power, it is kinda gutless at times. The engine simply isn't built to handle the extra pressures of a turbo, turbo engines generally have lower compression than non-turbo lumps so they can rev higher (simple view). Plus your electrical loom would need some work to make the turbo work & be controllable, and you'd prolly need a custom ECU. Would cost you loads, might give you 20-30% more power but probably blow up within months to be honest.

If your car's clean, tidy & nice, try to find a garage with a 2008 pro_ceed sport and part exchange your car for it.
They're diesel but have about 130HP, that's 50% more than you currently have and a lot more torque!

Sorry to be negative, just letting you know what I think is the case.
I'm no expert by the way, just picked up quite a lot from this place to be honest.

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
First, thanks for a reply :)
I was thinking of replacing my car, but like i said, i love my Pro Ceed. I do not want a diesel, but want a turbo. What i seen in news, turbo Ceed will come maybe in 2013. Who knows how much it will cost considering the prices of new Kia Ceed.