Kia Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
Kia Sorento 2012
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Delete if it’s another thread about this , does anyone know or had a chance to buy oem factory Kia or Hyundai oil , I can’t find anywhere to buy ,

·
Registered
I now drive a 2003 S-10 Had an 03 LX 3.5 Sorento
2,475 Posts
Dealer?? I don't think it is available in stores.

·
Registered
49 Posts
It's Total Quartz oil and probably synthetic blend. Dealer can sell it to you.
(my opinion) ...If you are doing the oil changes yourself, buy a major name brand and full synthetic. In most cases, 5w30 is better for your GDI / TGDI engine than 5w20. If your engine is a 1.6T, your best bet is 5w40 oil.

·
Registered
Kia Sorento 2012
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
2012 Kia Sorento has 2.4 gdi engine and I’ve been using valvoline 5w20 full synthetic vet since 3 years , it’s been burning oil ever since ,thought maybe changin brands and use what Kia dealer uses maybe will help amd I use oem Kia oil filter , same with my boys 2009 Hyundai Elantra I use 5w20 full synthetic valvoline and burns litle bit to , jaut looking for some opinions

·
Super Moderator
99 Kia Elan 1.8L, 17 Ford Edge Sport 2.7L V6, 15 Mustang 3.7L V6, 2013 BMW K1600 GTL
11,249 Posts
2012 Kia Sorento has 2.4 gdi engine and I’ve been using valvoline 5w20 full synthetic vet since 3 years , it’s been burning oil ever since ,thought maybe changin brands and use what Kia dealer uses maybe will help amd I use oem Kia oil filter , same with my boys 2009 Hyundai Elantra I use 5w20 full synthetic valvoline and burns litle bit to , jaut looking for some opinions
Would have been good to put all that in your first post.

If you're attempting to reduce the oil consumption, then the suggestion to go with 5W30 is your best bet, but going with the OEM blend won't do anything for you.

·
Registered
Kia Sorento 2012
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #6