Kia Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I own a 3 month old Kia Ceed, 128 bhp. Straight when I bought the car, I noticed that there was no improved brake performance between the Kia Proceed 2009 I owned before. This is my problem.

When hitting the brake slowly, the braking is fine.

As soon as I hit the brake fast (ex. In case of emergency, or when stuck in traffic and realise I need to brake quickly) I feel that the ABS kicks in, and once the ABS kicks in there is no grip whatsoever, and the braking distance triples, and the result is the same even if I hit the pedal as down as possible.

Unfortunately, this almost caused several crashes and I am pretty sure something is wrong. It is simply ridiculous that a car like that has poor braking performance as a standard. However I am no expert and would like to have an idea of the possible causes from some experts here on the forum, before discussing this with my local dealer.

Please help me before disaster strikes! :(

·
Registered
Kia Cee'd Sportswagon GT-line 1.6 CRDi (134bhp) Automatic 7spd-DCT
280 Posts
If the ABS kicks in, the car thinks that the surface is slippery. Are you on Maltese roads?

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi Adriano, Thanks for your reply. Yes I drive my Cee'd on Maltese roads, and indeed the roads here are far from perfect. But me previous proceed also had ABS and never had any problems, so my obvious thought would be that there is something wrong with the car... Any help to what it can be?

·
Registered
pro_ceed 1.6 CRDi 66kw (2008)
725 Posts
Possibly different (worse) tires.

BTW, if you often need to brake hard, you probably don't have optimal driving habits :)

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Nikola, tyres used are Hankook Optimus prime 2, original tyres of the car.

As for my driving habits, I would have written the following:

Three options:
1. Either you have bad driving habits, or: