Kia Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm new to car modding and don't know what I'm doing. I want to install the KDM spec version of the Hatch (5 door) headlights on the Sedan. I understand the differences in harnesses, but it seems like the could be remedied with a simple adapter. Could someone much more experienced with cars and their electrical systems offer some aid?

Thank you,

·
Super Moderator
9,531 Posts
Hi all,

I'm new to car modding and don't know what I'm doing. I want to install the KDM spec version of the Hatch (5 door) headlights on the Sedan. I understand the differences in harnesses, but it seems like the could be remedied with a simple adapter. Could someone much more experienced with cars and their electrical systems offer some aid?

Thank you,
Please add location and vehicle (year & model) to your signature
With the recent forum platform change, the location and vehicle details in your profile no longer show in each post.

eg.
USA
2019 Sportage 2.7L V6 SX turbo AWD

https://www.kia-forums.com/account/signature

·
Registered
1,106 Posts
Headlight housings for the sedan are different physically than the ones for the hatch and are not interchangeable.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Headlight housings for the sedan are different physically than the ones for the hatch and are not interchangeable.
How are they not interchangeable? They're the same shape; i literally saw a low-trim hatch with the sedan's headlamp assembly (presumably replacements for theirs or maybe early hatches shared the same assy). The only difference is how the harness delivers power

·
Registered
1,106 Posts
I always thought that they were different because they have different part numbers. Found that out when we had to replace one about three years ago..

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #6