Kia Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2017 Kia Sorento EX V6
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello there. I’m new to the Kia Fam. I purchased a used 2017 Kia Sorento. The previous owner must have tried to clean the lens on the Instrument cluster with sandpaper or something. It’s scratched all to hell. I found where to purchase a replacement lens but can’t seem to figure out how the entire unit gets removed from the dash. Has anyone done it?

·
Registered
2016 Sorento SXL
1,071 Posts
Wow - sorry to hear about that. Can't be done without pulling the instrument panel since it must be installed from the back side, and THAT is a HUGE project. Are you asking for those instructions? If so, let me know, but I'm not sure you're going to want to tackle it.

·
Registered
2017 Kia Sorento EX V6
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
If it’s that big of an undertaking it’s not worth it. I appreciate the response.

·
Registered
Sorento LX V6 2018
390 Posts
There are lots of automotive plastic cleaners/restorers out there - used many of them on the vinyl windows in convertible tops and with the proper amount of elbow grease work rather well. I bet you could get about 70% of the scratches out with the right chemicals - a whole lot easier than trying to remove the instrument panel.

·
Registered
2016 Kia Sorento SX Turbo AWD
34 Posts
In my Sorento something vibrates behind the cluster at certain RPMs so I'm hoping to pop it out and look around. On my Santa Fe this was pretty easy but I'm not sure how to go about it on the Sorento.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Hello there. I’m new to the Kia Fam. I purchased a used 2017 Kia Sorento. The previous owner must have tried to clean the lens on the Instrument cluster with sandpaper or something. It’s scratched all to hell. I found where to purchase a replacement lens but can’t seem to figure out how the entire unit gets removed from the dash. Has anyone done it?