Kia Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
Kia Rio S 2012 (3-door hatchback)
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have just ordered mudflaps for my Rio (3-door hatchback). Apparently, if I get the dealer to install these mud flaps for me, this will cost me AU$166 whereas the mudflaps themselves only cost $67. $100 for maybe a 20-minute labour! :eek:

I just wanted to ask if anyone here has installed mudflaps themselves on their Rio before. Is the process dangerous, or manageable by anyone? I have no experience in drilling a car (if this must be done to install the mudflaps). :(

·
Registered
2013 Rio5 EX w/ Convenience & ISG
293 Posts
I have installed the little tiny mudflaps. On my 2013 Rio5. All I can remember, it took about 30 minutes and the wheels stayed on. If there was drilling involved, the wheels would have to come off. It was a very simple job, use small tools and its an easy job. A 1 on a 5 difficulty scale. So go ahead.

And the instructions should come with the set.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have installed the little tiny mudflaps. On my 2013 Rio5. All I can remember, it took about 30 minutes and the wheels stayed on. If there was drilling involved, the wheels would have to come off. It was a very simple job, use small tools and its an easy job. A 1 on a 5 difficulty scale. So go ahead.

And the instructions should come with the set.
Thanks mate. I will install them myself also!
Do you find the mudflats to be helpful for preventing water from splashing all over the car paint at all? My Rio is white and I'm always frustrated how easy the road grime gets picked up and leaves black marks on the paint when the roads are wet. :(

·
Registered
2013 Rio5 EX w/ Convenience & ISG
293 Posts
Do you find the mudflats to be helpful :(
Simply. No. But they are a nice accent.

Helpful mudflaps would be the type on a lory (or over here, a semi). And I ain't doing that.