Kia Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
2017 Sedona LX+
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
DIY: HID installation into 2015+ sedona w/ Halogen headlights

After seeing a couple of threads asking about aftermarket lighting in the stock halogen headlights, I decided to share my experience with putting HID ballasts in our vans. I'm not an expert, but I have done my fair share of HID "retrofits" in several vehicles, including full HID projector installations in headlight housings.

To begin, Kia chose an interesting way to mount the H7 bulb in the headlights; rather than the usual metal retainer to directly lock the bulb in place w/ a separate socket to power the bulb, they chose to use a plastic socket with integrated "holder" for the bulb - this assembly would then be locked into the projecter housing. This presents a couple of packaging problems as 1) you have to either cut or retain the bulky plastic holder with the HID bulb/capsules, 2) have to modify aftermarket HID capsules with a separate plastic retainer, and 3) are limited to HID capsules or LED bulbs with flexible heatsinks if you want to keep the factory headlight cover.

Now that's out of the way, onto the pictures. 1)First, is the stock low-beam (right) vs. HID (left) - I chose 4300k temp.

2)You'll need to a basic H7 HID kit (w/ capsules and ballast) as well as the plastic holders to allow them to go inside the projector - the latter are readily available on Ebay for about $5 - search Kia K6 headlight holders. Make sure they are this shape.

3) You will need to attach the H7 capsule/bulb onto the holder - given how my H7 capsule was bundled with a silicone plug and ballast power wires, I chose to cut a slit in the holder to get the capsule in the center.

4)Line up the H7 capsule tabs on the holder and use high-temp silicone adhesive to bond it into place