Kia Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, first time poster,
I was hoping to get some advice from the more experienced minds here. Here's the scenario:

I was driving home and was at an intersection when my engine just stopped. No noise, no strange vibration or anything, no stalling out, it just quit. I pushed the car to the side of the road, took it to a service station that told me that I need a new timing belt (it slipped apparently or so they say?).

Anyway, this is a 300-600 dollar problem as far as I've been told. However, what's worse is that I've gotten word that this is engine could be an "interference-type", which means that when the timing belt slipped the valves could have possibly been bent by the pistons.

Now, I'm not a car expert by any means, but I wanted to get everyone's input that had anything to say about my issue. Note that I bought this car used from my mother for 1700, so if it's a 400 dollar problem I wouldn't mind fixing it, it's been a good ride and it's pretty reliable. But, if this has the potential to be a 1100 dollar problem to fix the valves, should I just scrap the car? And where would I go to do that?

Essentially, what are the chances that the valves are bent? How do I find out for minimal cost? And what are my chances that if I just throw on a new timing belt that it'll just work again?

I live in the Philadelphia area, and if I could just get it home to Virginia Beach, VA I can get a family friend (mechanic by trade) to look at it for practically nothing.

Heck, if anyone knows someone in Philly I can take this to relaibly and for relatively good price, I'll take that advice too.

I'm trying to get back on the road one way or another as soon as I can, so any answers and input you all would have would be much appreciated.