Kia Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2013 Sportage (wife's)
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My wife's Sportage is a '13, purchased in August (3,200 miles), and 2 months ago it already started showing signs of UV damage and drying out. Most of the lower plastic molding, as well as the rubber gaskets around the windows have gradually become more and more faded. I've been detailing cars on the side for 12 years, and I've never seen this happen on a car anywhere near this young. Generally this kind of damage sets in at 10+ years, NOT 3-4 months. I should also note that none of the molding was ever waxed or treated with anything. Has anyone else experienced something similar?

·
Premium Member
2017 Kia Niro Touring w/Tech Pkg, Blue/Grey
1,886 Posts
No.....................

·
Registered
'12 Sportage SX AWD
37 Posts
Nope... But as a non detailer I find that you as a detailer didn’t protect it when you first got the vehicle... I at least use turtle wax ice on it to protect it...

·
Registered
Kia 2015 Sportage Platinum diesel and 2013 Rio 3 door SLS
595 Posts
I've used nothing other than a damp chamois and/or microfibre cloth and can honestly say I haven't noticed any real change - well nothing that alarms me.
And that's through the last 2 of our high UV rating summers. Usually put up an internal windscreen sun shade, but that's about all. Can is always parked in the open for 8-12 hours per day at work.

Mind you, I could be taking all this back when I finally get around to giving it a good clean - hasn't been done for ages!

·
Registered
557 Posts
I've no idea if Hyundai/Kia plastics/coatings are prone to UV damage; others say no, and local dealerships leave their cars in the sun. Can you post pictures?