Kia Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a driving instructor and bought a brand new 1.1 LX in September 2004.
At the beginning of the driving test, the examiner may ask the learner to show how they check the headlights and tail lights. If a bulb has just blown he will not allow the car to be used for the test until the fault is repaired. He allows just 5 minutes. Do you know how long it takes to change a bulb ? And the spare wheel ?
If you get a puncture on the way to the test centre, the foam stuff is not allowed and since you may be asked to drive at upto 70 on a dual carriageway, it's not safe, either. My seat adjuster is broken, as is the handbrake ratchet, both hopefully being sorted under warranty on Monday. The engine 'knocks' like it's got a tappett gone when starting in the mornings. Would I recommend a Picanto for a driving school car, not if your business depends on it. When I change mine it will be replaced by a Toyota, dearer but infinitely better.

·
Registered
2005 Kia Picanto
185 Posts
Hello
I know a couple of driving instructors who use the Picanto as their training vehicle and they both rate it highly.
The headlight problem is something you will experience in most modern cars, as dealers no longer have the monopoly on you getting your vehicle serviced there they need something to keep you coming back!
As for the spare wheel problem, you can purchase a spare wheel kit or as they did when purchasing the car they asked for one to be included with the purchase of the car for free - both received one!

Kevin.

·
Registered
1,036 Posts
No cars are pefect, had no idea they have bulb changing as part of the test these days... don't get a Reanault clio with air con then... they are 'fun' to change bulbs on, at least Kia make it easy to remove headlamp to change it.