Kia Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2019 Sorento SXV6
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here on the Kia forum (newbie to Kia too). I call myself as having looked pretty thoroughly through this forum and other internet sources for an answer before joining you folks in order to pose my question.

I have a 2019 Sorento SXV6 just bought a month ago. Aren't the DRL's on the Sorento supposed to come on when the light switch is in the AUTO position during daylight hours? Mine only come on when the light switch is in the HEADLAMP position and stay on solid day & night. Although during daylight hours the headlights don't come on in the HEADLAMP position, the side front side marker and the tail lights come on along with the DRL and stay on full time. All other vehicles I've had turned the DRL on when the car cranks and the light switch is in AUTO without side or tail lights burning. This just doesn't make sense to me.

I swear I've read the owners manual umpteen times and the way I read it the DRL should work as I think, so it's probably my age, my dyslexia or copious amounts of Buffalo Trace that's keeping me confused but any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

·
Registered
2019 Sorento EX V6
793 Posts
The headlight position turns everything on.
AFAIK Sorentos in the US do not have DRL's. My 2019 EX does not and my 2016 SX did not.
I don't know if the higher trim level got them in 2019

·
Registered
2019 Sorento EX V6
793 Posts
The headlight position turns everything on.
AFAIK Sorentos in the US do not have DRL's. My 2019 EX does not and my 2016 SX did not.
I don't know if the higher trim level got them in 2019

·
Registered
2019 Sorento SXV6
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Is the parking brake on, and/or is the car in Park? Maybe the brake has to be released or be out of Park.
I've had my wife sitting in the car with the engine running, xmsn in D with nothing so that's not the problem. Thanks for the suggestion though!

______