Kia Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sup all, just bought a 99 kia sephia 5 speed. car runs great except after i shift and go to give it gas, if i give it to much, (more then a 1/4in) it chugs like im a noob with a stick. it does it in all gears. if i drive very very easy (and somewhat slow) it goes great. any ideas?

·
Registered
138 Posts
It is difficult to tell from here. If you have a CEL have the codes read. Otherwise it could be a number of things. Spark plugs/wires/distributer cap and rotors. I would start with a basic tune-up if not done recently. Also clean the throttle body and check the EGR valve. I hope it is not a fuel pump issue. As you see it is a laundry list of possibilities.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanks man, didnt know if this was a common problem or what, ill start with the basics and go from there, just didnt want to start throwing money around until i checked with other KIA owners. thanks again.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Your car doesn't have a distributor cap/rotor it has 2 coil packs check out www.kia101.com and you will see what I'm talkin about.

·
Registered
107 Posts
is it fixed? if that didn't do it then try doing the following:

Valve and fuel injector cleaner (such as cheveron Techron)
Use carb cleaner and spray the inside of the Intake manifold till all gunk is gone
(RECOMMENDED: when you get cleaners, They will foul up your spark plugs so get NEW ones to replace them.)
replace air filter and clean piping.
take a cue tip and denatured/rubbing/isolpropyl alcohol and clean the chips inside the MAF (if you take the screen out of the MAF PUT IT BACK IN).
Replace Fuel filter (helps alot more then you think, its located under the rear passenger side of the vehicle by the gas tank. have a Mechanic service it.)