Soon to be 2021 Kia Sorento SX Prestige X-Line- Aruba Green owner
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Reactions: CB3

·
Registered
'21 Sorento Hybrid EX
221 Posts
I use chemical guys pink soap wash, in a 5 gallon bucket with two wash mitts. I dry lightly with a few cloths and then use Meguiars Gold Class liquid wax. Any old glass cleaner on the window, Armor All leather wipes on the interior after I run a vacuum brush over it. Tireless Shine on the wheels and rubber

I've been using the same wax for 20 years. I've been wanting to try a ceramic but havent got around to it yet. Maybe when I wax before the winter I'll try the ceramic for the first time

·
Registered
‘21 Sorento X-Line White/Rust
19 Posts
Ceramics last better and longer then regular wax. This reduces the time and effort spent to keep a car looking nice. Ceramic detailers and proper gentle car washing soaps also prolong ceramic shine. Never go through a commercial brush wash. I always put a Clear Bra product on the areas of my car that get chips—front, hood part way, rocker panels, mirrors. It takes ceramic coating just like clear coat.

Surface preparation is the key, and that is what takes the most time.
Wash with harsh soap (Dawn dish soap) to remove all waxes, oils, dirt.
Clay the paint and re-wash.
Touch up any scratches or chips with touch up paint. Let dry for as long as possible.
Use a very mildly abrasive polish to remove swirls and scratches and get the clear coat glass smooth. A very fine celled foam random orbital buffer is easiest. This step takes the longest. Repeat until satisfied. You are polishing clear coat, not paint.
Wash & dry, ideally with compressed air rather than towels.

New cars don’t need as much prep work. Cars that have had an excellent polish before previous ceramic coating will not need as much prep work.

Apply ceramic coating per directions, but use a sheep’s wool buffer because it’s better, faster and less tiring than hand towels.