Kia Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
KIA Carnival 2000
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Well no one can blame Kia for this. Blame the idiot (mechanic?) who replaced the rear shoes at some stage but didn't bother to radius grind the rear shoes, (or replace the wheel cylinders either)

Mysterious rubbery brake pedal was partly due to the flexing of the shoe....I mean 6mm results a huge amount of lining unable to contact the drum. To go a step further, it may have resulted in the front brakes locking up (no ABS on the early Carnivals), because of lack of surface area at the rear.

Luckily I'm an ex mechanic...but pity any poor schwabs who pay out cash for work like this.....:(

PS The rebuilt 2.5L motor is still running sweetly...

Attachments

·
Registered
Many, KIa Ceed 1.6 crdi auto at the moment
103 Posts
razzledog, from your photo it looks like two things, has the drum been skimed, but the 6mm gap looks to big, are they the right shoes to fit that drum ?

·
Registered
KIA Carnival 2000
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Spongy brakes

Funny but the leading shoes on both sides are correct...only both trailing shoes radius is incorrect. I ground them (on a belt sander) to better suit the drum and the brakes have improved.

I removed the shoes and drums from a 2001 model only to find the system is different and backing plates are now needed too. Will end up replacing the whole rear system as the later shoes are much more sturdy, made of thicker material too.

Cheers.

·
Registered
103 Posts
spongy brakes

Hi razzledog, I would look for a trailing shoe for that 6mm is a hell lot of brake linning to lose, you are either going to lose the centre part of the linning which will be so thin or one leading edge that is so thin that your going to be in square one and have to change the linning very early

Take the drum and go to the scrap dealer and find the right shoe, you will get a much better brake

·
Registered
103 Posts
spongy brakes