Kia Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. Newbie here. Just recently purchased a 2015 sorento and have already tried searching this forum but haven’t seen this issue yet. Maybe I missed it. Anywho...

The cargo area light is currently set to “door” but when you open the lift gate to the cargo area, the light isn’t on. I can flip the switch from “door” to “on” and it’ll work then and only then. It’s a head scratcher for me. Am I missing something? I’ll feel stupid if I’m just doing something wrong.

Thanks in advance.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
349 Posts
I'll try to find the details in the shop manual....maybe it is there...but the first suspect is the lift gate switch ....hey...I do not know where it is..will pay a visit to SOri in my garage to find out. Of course, probably, all of this must go through the BodyCOntrolMOdule....this thing that replaces the straight wiring that used to work for the last 100 years.....
QUestion: does the cargo light goes ON if you open any other door ?
...and thanks for having filled up your profile right from the start....

·
Registered
349 Posts
OK...went to Sori and verified:
-cargo light will NOT turn ON with other doors opening, only with tailgate opening
- no visible switch...light activates as soon as latch quits closed position...switch is integrated within the latch IN THE TAILGATE, probably combined with the switch that will pop "gate unlatched" light on the instrument panel.

here is what the manual says about...
- Tailgate Switch
1. Remove the tailgate trim.
(Refer to Body - "Tailgate")
2. Disconnect the 4P connector from the actuator.
3. Check for continuity between the terminals in each switch position according to the table.

In another place I read:
Trunk room lamp does not light
Bulb burned out Replace bulb
Room lamp fuse (10A) blown Check for short and replace fuse
Trunk room lamp switch faulty Check switch