Kia Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here. We're a week into owning an EX V6 4X4 Pkg 50 (Lux, Prem, DVD, 18" Chrome Wheels), Titanium Exterior, Black Leather Interior... (Great, non-catalog color combination; still can't believe we lucked out on that.)

Anyway, maybe we're just wimps, but it seems the rear shock absorbers' rate is WAY too stiff. But, as the Borrego is still so new, there is no information to be found online for the damping rate... I want to replace the stock ones with some adjustable (softer) Koni's, Gabriel's, or the like.

Anyone out there with stock shock absorber data?

If not, I'll just have to remove, take physical measurements, and start trying other ones out.

Thanks,
A.J.
Seattle, WA

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Update: Last weekend I jacked-up the Borrego and removed the right rear shock. 'Took measurements, etc, and have sent the data to some online shock absorber companies to try and find alternatives.

And for the record... We also own an '04 MINI Cooper S, have owned a '93 Corvette, and a '99 Chevy S10 ZR2 (Bilstein-equipped). I'm used to stiff suspension! :)

...Wait to see what these online folks come back with.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Update 2: This is becoming interesting.

See, I did read in a few reviews that "early production Borrego's had very stiff suspension." (Implying that some change was made.) Well, it looks like there was a change.

That right rear shock absorber that I took measurements on last week had a part number of 55311-2J100 on it. This week I have worked with a local Kia dealership (parts counter) and have established that this part number is not valid. Instead, here is the current offering:
- Left Rear is 55320-2J100, at $112.93.
- Right Rear is 55310-2J100, at $171.24.
Why there is such a significant price difference is beyond me.