Kia Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My girlfriend hit a curb/jumped a curb an when the wheel came down it broke the axle. well not really broke the axle since its not bent broke or damaged. It pulled the cv axle out of the shaft. Can I put the cv axle back in or is it best to just replace it? I'd think replace it but if i can use the old one then thatd be best. Typical problem with this year 2001 or why did it do that? I've included 2 pictures so you guys can see what i mean. Im not too experienced with kias so if you notice any other damage let me know.

·
Registered
73 mustang 77 corvette 04 hyundai accent 98 kia sephia
3 Posts
looks to me me , she snapped the ball joint off. going to need a new lower control arm, its bent. ball joints take a beating, but with a curb hit like that, they will break. i would replace the axle, advance auto has new ones for 70.00 bucks, visit a junk yard for the lower control arm, and install a new ball joint, better check the other side while your at it. all cars require maintinance not just kias. its a fairly easy fix

·
Registered
2000 Kia Sephia LS, 1998 Kia Sportage 4x4, 2002 Kia Sportage 4x4
1,252 Posts
what does the top of the strut tower in the engine bay look like? and the tie rod?

from those two pics it looks like you need a lower control arm, lower ball joint assembly, and possibly a stabilizer bar end link. can't tell if that's a bend in the strut or not but you're gonna need an alignment and they'd be able to tell if anything else is out when they get it on the rack after you replace the control arm/ball joint. i'd also look into a new axle because chances are that one is bent and it's gonna make a nasty vibration at 65 mph if it is.

a few more pictures would help though.

·
Super Moderator
2016 FIAT 500X Trekking Plus AWD; 2016 Kia Forte5 SX 1.6T A/T
6,807 Posts