Kia Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2014 Sorento EX V6 AWD, RIP 2003 Sorento EX 3.5L
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all Kia members,

Any good KIA dealership mechanics in NYC area?

I was wondering if anyone in NYC area knows a good Kia mechanic because in my area (Brooklyn & Staten Island, NY), one I will never go back to unless it is an emergency and the other is not much better in service and much further away.

They will never, ever give a loaner while my car is worked on.

They state the noise\kick in tranny I feel when starting to drive after a somewhat sharp stop is normal. I have been driving different cars for 26 years and this is the first car that has some type of HIT or KICK in the tranny and has been doing it since day one when I drove it out of dealership when purchased it brand new.

The dome light not turning ON when the doors are opened, Kia mechanic said he needs to and I quote “I need to remove your interior roof panel and run a new cable from the bulb to the switch”. You got to be kidding me right? I followed instructions on this Forum on how to replace a bad diode for a price of .60 cents and 10 minutes of my time and the dome light issue was resolved. It’s not the .60 cents but the fact that the mechanic had no clue on what needed to be fixed.

The examples above are just some of many other similar situations I experienced with Kia Dealership Mechanics, just seems like they don’t really know how the car is built.

I would love to purchase another a new Kia in a year or two but knowing the headaches which I went thru in the 9 years with Kia dealership mechanics in my area I am not so sure I would buy another Kia.

So if anyone knows of a good Kia Dealership Mechanics please let me know.

Thank you,

·
Registered
03'VW Passat - mine | 03'Sorento EX 4X4 - hers
234 Posts