Kia Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
2013 Sorento LX
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,
I'm having an issue already with my 2013 Sorento. It started last week when I backed out of my garage. There was wet spot on the garage floor that seemed strange to me. Living in Arizona, I am used to A/C condensation dripping, but there was a second puddle....farther back, and more toward the driver's side. Upon investigation, this second puddle smelled like antifreeze. I am no mechanic, but when I looked under the hood, the antifreeze was between L and F in the holder. So I called the dealer, and they scheduled an appointment. Well today when I was leaving Albertsons I had the A/C on full blast, and the overwhelming smell of antifreeze filled the car. I rolled the window down to vent it out as I drove home. When I got home the carpet on the passenger side was damp and reeked of antifreeze. I didn't notice any difference in the coolant level in the holder when I got home. What is going on with my car? It is a 2013 LX with just over 1,300 miles on it. Is it safe to drive it to the dealer for my appointment on Wednesday? I am a little bit disappointed, as this is my first new car in almost 30 years, and after meticulously caring for my previous two cars and not having any issues, I'm scared I may continue to have problems with this car? What could the problem even be? Thank you for any replies.

·
Registered
06 Sedona LX, 06 Sedona EX, 14 Forte EX, 11 Sportage EX, 11 Forte 5-door SX, 15 K900 VIP+
1,143 Posts
It sounds to me like a heater core issue. If you are afraid to drive it, you could call Kia Roadside and have it towed to the dealer. Probably just a bad part from the factory. Warranty should cover it.

·
Registered
Cerato S Hatch Auto
1,236 Posts
I know how you feel. You pay $XXXXX for a new car and you expect it to be right. But no reason why the rest of the car will be unreliable.