Kia Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
Kia Rio S 2012 (3-door hatchback)
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi All.

This is my first time visiting and becoming a member on this forum. Pleased to meet you all.

I purchased my Rio S 2012 (3 doors) last month in Australia in white (as shown in the pictures). Really loving the car so far. I am considering changing the factory steel wheels to alloy wheels, and I have got a few questions, for which I would really appreciate your input!

1) I am planning to keep using the 15" Kumho tyres that came with the car, and this means that I will need to get 15" alloy wheels also. For those of you who own a Rio with 17" alloy wheels, do you notice any loud noise from the wheels when you're on the road? Some reviews have indicated that Rios with 17" alloy wheels sometime have some noise from the wheels, especially at low speed.

2) Do larger wheels lead to better handling, fuel consumption etc.? I still am very new to the automotive world.

2) There are so many choices of alloy wheels out there. I am really overwhelmed by these and having a hard time deciding which to get for my Rio. As my Rio is white, I am considering white alloy wheels, two of which have caught my eyes:
-Advanti Eco (Tech 9 Tyres - Wheels: Advanti Eco)
-OZ Racing Superturismo WRC (O.Z. Superturismo WRC White Painted)

What do you guys think of putting white alloy wheels on a white car? I have seen some pictures of them and they look very good, in my opinion. :)

3) I heard that you should avoid hitting a gutter with your alloy wheels at all cost as this may damage the wheels. Is this statement true? I have heard that alloy wheels are supposed to be stronger and more durable than steel wheels.

Thanks in advance everyone! ^_^

·
Registered
Kia 2015 Sportage Platinum diesel and 2013 Rio 3 door SLS
595 Posts
Welcome fellow Aussie