Kia Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, just found this forum, hope y'all can give some advice. Found a '07 Spectra 5 w/113k miles, AT, for $6000.

Drove it today and it was really smooth, I was impressed with the acceleration (I'm accustomed to a Civic so I guess the 2.0 makes a difference). It seems to be mechanically sound -- however I'm not a mechanic and I'll get it checked before I buy. The carfax is totally clean and the one previous owner did all scheduled maintenance.

Cosmetically it has one issue, a large scrape/dent to the rear drivers side panel - I've attached pics.

Given the scrape/dent you see in the pics (and assuming a clean bill of health from the mechanic) what are thoughts on this asking price? and, more importantly, what can I expect from a Spectra with 113K miles on it? For instance, I've noticed on my 2 Honda Civics that things start to go around 130-140K miles (radiator / exhaust etc). curious what the expectations are for Kia's in general as they get up there in mileage.

thanks in advance for any thoughts.
J

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
2008 SpectraSX, 2014 Optima LX,2006 Jeep Liberty, Linux Mint Mate
6,959 Posts
I would be careful with this car... The rear "scrape" looks more like a failed body repair.
A scrape would not cause cracks in paint on the body panel (as shown). The cracks come from body filler (bondo) that has been hit again. Also the second picture shows a poorly painted over section of surface rust.
We like KIAs here and would support your purchase "if" you bought it...knowing... that some problems have been hidden. I wonder how hard this car has been driven and how much preventive maintenance has been done in the past.